World Countries Flashcards - England Facts for Kids


The United Kingdom is an island nation, lying between the north Atlantic and the North Sea. The UK comprises England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.


Official name:  The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Capital: London

Official Language: English, Irish, Scots, Cornish

Currency: Pound Sterling

Continent: Europe

Population: 67.0 million

Major rivers: Severn, Thames, Trent, Mersey

Major Cities: Birmingham, Bath, York, Canterbury, Manchester

Major Mountains: Great Gable, Scafell, Pike, Crossfall

National Sport: Cricket

National Bird: The Robin

National Tree: The Oak

National Animal:  Lion

National Flower: Rose

National Fruit: Apple



The United Kingdom consists mostly of rugged hills, terrains, low mountains, and some plains. It comprises more than 6000 islands. It is the 7th largest island nation in the world. It is known for being cloudy and rainy throughout the year. The western part of the country is extremely wet and very windy. While the east is much drier and less windy.


The native British people called “English” are the Anglo Saxons. They are a group of closely related German tribes.  The Britons known colloquially as Brits are well known for their punctuality, politeness, sense of humor, and self-discipline.

England’s rich customs and tradition is famous across the world. Some of the cultural values followed are respect, tolerance, individual liberty, and democracy.


The national flag of the United Kingdom is called the Union Jack or Union flag. The flag combines the crosses of three nations: England, Ireland, and Scotland. The Union flag represents the unification of these nations. White represents peace and honesty. Red symbolizes strength, valor, and bravery. Blue stands for vigilance, justice, loyalty, and perseverance.


There are 1390 native species and over 1100 well-established non-native species on the islands. Oak and beech are mainly found in the lowlands and pine and birch in the mountainous areas. Some common trees include elm and ash. England has a wide range of wildflowers that includes snowdrops, primroses, buttercups, cowslips daffodils, and bluebells.

Squirrel, otter, hedgehog, water vole, British bluebell, and swallowtail butterfly, are held in great affection by the public. Smaller carnivores like badgers, otters, foxes, stoats, and weasels thrive in most rural areas. Rodents like rats, squirrels, mice, hedgehogs, moles, and shrews are also widely distributed. Rabbits are also widespread in the region.


Popular teams’ sports in England include football, field hockey, cricket, rugby union, rugby league, and netball. Major individual sports include badminton, athletics, tennis, boxing, golf, cycling, motorsport, and horseracing. Cricket is regarded as the national sport.


Tower Bridge: Tower Bridge, one of London's most famous landmarks, is a bascule and suspension bridge on River Thames. It has stunning panoramic views and one can experience the thrill of seeing London life through the Glass Floor.

London Eye: Located on the Southbank and standing 135 meters high, the London Eye is an iconic feature of the London skyline. The London Eye, or the Millennium Wheel, is a cantilevered observation wheel on the South Bank of the River Thames in London. It is the most popular paid tourist attraction in the United Kingdom with over 3 million visitors annually. It is the first of its kind and the only cantilevered observation wheel in the world.

Big Ben: It is a tower clock known for its accuracy and for its massive hour bell. The bell weighs 15.1 tons. There are four clocks on the tower, one on each side of it. It first chimed 160 years ago.

Kensington palace: A historic royal palace in London.  Kensington Palace has a rich royal history. It can boast of being the birthplace of Queen Victoria and the official London residence of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge. It is a 300-year-old residence of the young royals of London.

Buckingham palace: This is a London royal residence and the administrative headquarters of the monarch of the United Kingdom. Buckingham Palace is recognized around the world as the home of The Queen. Built-in 1703, Buckingham Palace has 775 rooms. These include 19 Staterooms, 52 Royal and guest bedrooms, 188 staff bedrooms, 92 offices, and 78 bathrooms.

Queen’s Royal Guard: The queen’s guard is responsible for guarding Buckingham palace. They usually consist of foot guards wearing full dress uniforms of red tunics and bearskins hats.

The landmarks showcased here are a part of the England Country Flash Cards. Buy the flashcards for such cool visual details on 30 countries of the world


Saffura is a mother of three. She is a yoga instructor and has spent a lot of time teaching yoga for children. She narrates numerous stories to inculcate moral values in children, as she is certain that yoga is for the body and soul. As a mother and yoga instructor,  She enjoys new tasks and likes multitasking. She truly believes that will mould her into a strong writer. As a writer she does a lot of research and pays keen attention to details.


Previous article
Next article